Attending My FIRST “Coding Dojo” (In Person)

Vikram Nayyar CS
2 min readAug 14, 2023

--

Introduction:

Hello All!

So last week was a very busy week and I was able to squeeze in a “Coding Dojo” session. This week’s blog post aims to raise awareness about the idea of one and share my own experiences of it.

As always, before we get into this week’s post, make sure to applaud, comment and share with your friends!

Happy Reading!

So What Actually is a Coding Dojo?

At first, I had absolutely no clue what this was but essentially, it’s an event where people get together to solve a DSA orientated problem!

Even better: there’s free pizza !

This one was ran on an evening, straight after work.

How it Came About?

Without Meetup, this would not of been possible!

If you’ve been following the blogs for a while then you’ll be aware that I like my events. This time, I was looking for a local event as I’ve already been to some in places like Manchester and London (very far!).

I would recommend this app to anyone as there’s loads of events (probably even more down south!!)

Why I Chose to Give it a Go?

There really was nothing to lose!

If you keep up with my LeetCode then you’ll know that I’m trying to push my DSA problem solving skills and an in person event is a different way to do this.

The Challenge:

Converting standard decimal numbers to Roman Numerals!

In the past, I’ve struggled with this problem.

There was also an emphasis on TDD and identifying patterns. For e.g., the numbers 1 to 3 are all just with I’s and from 5–8, they’re all using ‘V’s and ‘I’s.

How it Went:

Like I said, I’ve struggled with these kind of problems in the past.

I was only able to get a solution that worked from 0–100.

I used Python as that’s the language I tend to stick to for DSA.

It was definitely interesting to see how others approached it (using languages such as Go, JavaScript and C#).

Final Review:

Even though I was unable to get a fully working solution, it was definitely a worthwhile experience. I will be attending the next one!

Hopefully I can get the full solution.

There were even talks about some “Infrastructure Kata’s” being raised at future events so I can’t wait for them!

Final Things:

As always, thank you for taking the time to read this week’s blog post! I really appreciate it!

All my links are here!

Hashtags:

#datastructure #programming #coding #computerscience #python #pythonprogramming #programmer #coder #javascript #java #programmers #algorithm #datastructures #developer #html #programminglanguage #pythondeveloper #codinglife #codingbootcamp #softwaredeveloper #coderlife #javaprogramming #developerlife #code #codingmemes #algorithms #programmingmemes #datastructuresandalgorithms #css #datascience

--

--