And Just Like That, I’ve FINISHED Placement!! | Let’s Talk!

Vikram Nayyar CS
3 min readSep 20, 2023

Introduction:

So by the title, you can already tell what I’m talking about but I can’t believe how fast this time has arrived. It honestly feels like only yesterday when I was walking around the office on my first day.

This week’s post aims to summarise the year and raise a few key points that I’ve either learnt across the year or can look back on from the year.

As always, before we get into the post, be sure to like, comment and share with your friends.

Happy Reading!

3 Quick Fire Points:

If you are looking to do a placement then be aware:

It genuinely does pass by super quick.

Transitioning from university to an entirely knew sector (industry) can be challenging. With that being said, I did like the learning on the job part because as frustrating as it can be, I believe that it’s the only “real” way to learn.

Some More Detailed Thoughts:

Looking back over all the features and bug fixes that I’ve worked upon, I really have worked upon “user facing” projects. Of course, I can’t really go into too much detail because of confidentiality but let’s just say that most of the things I’ve worked on have been used by customers!

Development is hard but thankfully, I had a great team (which was maintained even after changing teams too!) who were more experienced and able to assist as and when needed.

Looking Back at my Goals:

Contribute new features and bug fixes to the SaaS product. ✅

As simple as this sounds, I was able to achieve this. Many of my PR’s have made it to production!

Become more confident in a corporate setting. ✅

It’s hard to measure this but my confidence has definitely skyrocketed.

Contribute to testing (50% achieved).

I was able to contribute in the form of Unit Tests and Component tests however for various reasons, my E2E tests never made it through.

Help to develop a new data source. ❌

This was always going to be a stretch but I just never really made time to do it.

Conclusion:

I’ve had loads of fun on placement.

I’ve learnt so much.

But it’s time to get ready for the final year of university.

I’m a way better person and developer.

This needs to be used as a spring board for future growth. Keep the momentum going!!

So What Will I Be Doing Going Forwards?

Of course a break is needed but let’s talk beyond that!

I need to step up the content. Particularly Instagram and Tiktok as I’ve been slacking heavily on those platforms. The intention is to post more on those platforms as I’ll have more time to create content. Let’s be honest, there was enough time this year to post more however now, I have literally no excuse to not post.

This goes without saying but YouTube content is coming. If you’ve been a long time follower of the blog then you would already be aware of this :)

Of course, I do need to prepare for university and ease back into the “study life”. I’ve never actually done the transition from work back into studies before so this is something that I’ll need to prepare for.

The plan is to continue delving into Leetcode, Cyber Security and Cloud Computing too.

Aside from that, I have a few side projects on my mind that would be cool to build. Whether or not I do this or not is a completely different question!

This goes without saying but this blog will be continuing!!

Disclaimer:

I’ve obviously set a lot of things to do here.

Of course, some of them will be more achievable than others. I guess that we can wait and see and potentially even review this at the end of summer!

Final Things:

As always, thank you for taking the time to read this blog post. I could literally make a blog post about every week of placement so it was impossible to put it all in here.

Let me know if you’d like to hear more from placement!

Be sure to check out all of my links.

Hashtags:

#internship #intern #job #career #magang #internships #education #jobsearch #hiring #jobs #internshipprogram #student #infomagang #college #interns #students #training #resume #travel #internshipopportunity #workfromhome #summerinternship #interview #opportunity #recruitment #work #business #volunteer #magangjakarta #marketing

--

--